The Bastard Hills of North Bristol

15 02 2010

As we all know, it is impossible to circumnavigate Bristol without encountering its formidable hills. They say that like Rome, Bristol was built on seven of them. And so it was that on a bright and crisp Sunday morning, my bicycle and I set out to eat many of them for breakfast.

My route was ready-made and aptly named: The Bastard Hills of North Bristol, put together by the Bristol by Bicycle blog and the Bristol Cycling Campaign. The official ride was postponed last month due to the snow and ice, and I have been itching to ride it since then. As its name suggests, it encompasses some of north Bristol’s most severe inclines, winding its way through Montpelier, Kingsdown, Cotham, cutting briefly through the centre before up Park Street, skirting Brandon Hill, then on to Clifton and Clifton Wood.

The names of the hills along the route bring a shudder to many who have ever had to ride, walk or run up them: Constitution Hill, St Michael’s Hill, Bridge Valley Road. These are among the more well-known ones on the route (in map form here), but they are by no means the steepest or hardest. Once I had traversed the true bastard that is Marlborough Hill (right) and sped down Horfield Road, climbing up St Michael’s Hill didn’t seem half the challenge that it normally is.

The very first hill of the route actually proved one of the hardest, Brook Hill in Montpelier, up to York Road, a little blighter that I had not encountered before, which forced me out of my saddle and to re-evaluate just how sensible this Sunday morning jolly was going to be.

Fortunately, during the 80-minute ride (much of that spent consulting the route that I had scribbled down on four bits of paper from a notebook), I had the incentive of a Sunday lunch to look forward to at my friends Tom and Jo’s flat on Royal York Cresent.

It was near their humble abode that some of the most interesting riding took place, criss-crossing Clifton and Clifton Wood, stumbling upon the Lion pub on Church Lane that I had no clue existed, and winding up a hairpin bend on Clifton Wood Road (left) that could have easily been a climb on the Tour de France rather than part of a route put together by a Bristol cycling enthusiast on his laptop.

The last descent was down Granby Hill, ending on Hotwell Road. After seriously testing my brakes, I screeched to a halt by the footbridge over the busy road, running over it with my bike, bumping down the steps on the other side and then remounting for the short, fast and – for once – flat few hundred metres along the Portway, under the Suspension Bridge and then up Bridge Valley Road, putting every last ounce of effort into continuing up the left turn at the top onto Ladies Mile and pumping a high gear to the finish by the Downs Tea Room.

My legs were almost completely spent, I was drenched in sweat, but I had conquered the Bastard Hills of North Bristol. I can’t wait to be among the pelaton when the ride proper takes place.

***Update*** The ride proper took place on Sunday, May 23 2010. Read about it here.


Actions

Information

8 responses

15 02 2010
Peter Blackman

That looks good. Might sound a bit savage, but think I’m going to give that a go as a run! Do you know what the total distance is?

15 02 2010
SteveL

Congratulations! You are the first person to have done the entire route in one go! When Adam and I cased out the route we did it in two halves, though we did explore various options that aren’t in the final route. Even so, you will go down in history as the first finisher. You also made good time; we estimate 2h including a coffee break at the centre.

Distance is probably under 10 miles; its the 600m of ascent that hurts.

15 02 2010
SteveL

Two more points
* The Lion pub is not bad at all. If you look closely at the route there are lot of interesting pubs on its path, would make for a good pub crawl.

* The full ride is now planned for may, final date still to be set/announced.

3 01 2011
atlanticjaxx

None of these hills are North Bristol

22 02 2013
iyers

Eh? They’re all north of the River (Avon) and hence all “North Bristol”.

23 02 2013
atlanticjaxx

I wait two years for a reply (and a full, frank apology actually) and all I get is this?. I suspect this might be a bit awkward for the gentry downtown, but may I suggest one get’s out into the sticks a little more often?

6 04 2011
» Blog Archive » There be hills in these parts

[…] the list of Bristol’s killer hills during my stay or if a ridiculous mood takes me attempt The Bastard Hills of Bristolin one fierce […]

14 07 2011
Gary

Could a normal person do that?

Leave a comment