Gorillas roam the streets of Bristol

8 07 2011

This week, 60 gorillas have appeared on the streets of Bristol and further afield. From Bedminster to Avonmouth with one stuck in Birmingham coach station, the gorillas have already made themselves very much at home. They are here as part of Bristol Zoo’s Wow! Gorillas, a public art event held to celebrate the 175th anniversary of the zoo, to raise money for charity and to support gorilla consevation projects in the wild.

Pokemon-style, gotta catch ’em all. So after a bit of hunting, here they all are:

Bristol Wow Gorilla 1: The S Express, Narrow Quay

Bristol Wow Gorilla 2: Priscilla, M Shed

Bristol Wow Gorilla 3: Sabyinyo, Millennium Square

Bristol Wow Gorilla 4: My Kind of Bristol, Millennium Square

Bristol Wow Gorilla 5: Sky Gorilla, Anchor Square

Bristol Wow Gorilla 6: Blue, Crest Nicholson marketing suite, Harbourside

Bristol Wow Gorilla 7: Seeing Me Seeing You, Hargreaves Lansdown, Anchor Road

Bristol Wow Gorilla 8: Grievesey, College Green

Bristol Wow Gorilla 9: Willard, Marriott Hotels

Bristol Wow Gorilla 10: Distinctly Different, Cascade Steps

Bristol Wow Gorilla 11: Bradisson, Radisson Blu Hotel

Bristol Wow Gorilla 12: Apple of My Eye, Centre promenade

Bristol Wow Gorilla 13: Splodge, Colston Hall

Bristol Wow Gorilla 14: Cheeky Check-Up, Thunderbolt Square

Bristol Wow Gorilla 15: Going Going Gorilla, Queen Square

Bristol Wow Gorilla 15 (Mark 2): Going Going Gorilla, Queen Square

Bristol Wow Gorilla 16: Fade to Black, The Grove

Bristol Wow Gorilla 17: Blackbeardorilla, King Street

Bristol Wow Gorilla 18: Crystal Eyes, Stanfords

Bristol Wow Gorilla 19: Super G Downhill Racer, St Nicholas Market

Bristol Wow Gorilla 20: Aja, Thistle Grand Hotel

Bristol Wow Gorilla 21: The Forest Within, Castle Park

Bristol Wow Gorilla 22: Wow Bristol, The Podium Broadmead

Bristol Wow Gorilla 23: 24 Carot Camo, The Galleries

Bristol Wow Gorilla 24: Gert Collaberilla, Horsefair Broadmead

Bristol Wow Gorilla 25: Elvis, Bristol Bus Station

Bristol Wow Gorilla 26: Hubert, Holiday Inn City Centre

Bristol Wow Gorilla 27: Zoo Keeper, Quakers Friars

Bristol Wow Gorilla 28: Gorilla Skelana, Cabot Circus

Bristol Wow Gorilla 29: Ape Scape, Bristol Airport

Bristol Wow Gorilla 30: Mondo, Evening Post building

Bristol Wow Gorilla 31: Tensor, Temple Church Garden

Bristol Wow Gorilla 32: Jama, Temple Back East

Bristol Wow Gorilla 33: Goram, Bristol Temple Meads

Bristol Wow Gorilla 34: Little Fluffy Clouds, St Mary Redcliffe Church

Bristol Wow Gorilla 35: Gorilla Shape Bristol Fashion, Grain Barge

Bristol Wow Gorilla 36: Blackbeard Silverback, Arnos Vale Cemetery

Bristol Wow Gorilla 37: Suebo, North Street Green

Bristol Wow Gorilla 38: Spider Monkey, North Street

Bristol Wow Gorilla 39: Alfred, Ashton Gate

Bristol Wow Gorilla 40: Winston, Avon Gorge Hotel

Bristol Wow Gorilla 41: Kingdom, The Mall Gardens

Bristol Wow Gorilla 42: Lipstick on the Gorilla, The Promenade

Bristol Wow Gorilla 43: Gorisambard, Clifton Suspension Bridge

Bristol Wow Gorilla 44: Noah, Bristol Zoo

Bristol Wow Gorilla 45: Percival, Clifton College

Bristol Wow Gorilla 46: Midnight Shok, Clifton Down Shopping Centre

Bristol Wow Gorilla 47: Custard, BBC Bristol

Bristol Wow Gorilla 48: Banana Shirt, Victoria Rooms

Bristol Wow Gorilla 49: Pattern Gorilla, City Museum & Art Gallery

Bristol Wow Gorilla 50: Reaching Out, Waitrose Westbury Park

Bristol Wow Gorilla 51: Irene, Gloucester Road

Bristol Wow Gorilla 52: Telula, The Mall at Cribbs Causeway

Bristol Wow Gorilla 53: Sunny, Currys Cribbs Causeway

Bristol Wow Gorilla 54: Old Man of the Forest, Costco Avonmouth (thanks to Madame Guillotine)

Bristol Wow Gorilla 55: Severn Bore, between Underbanks and Watch House Road, Pill

Bristol Wow Gorilla 56: Still Life Alfred, Bath Road

Bristol Wow Gorilla 57: Endangered PJs, Bitton station

Bristol Wow Gorilla 58: Funky Gibbon, Chipping Sodbury Baptist church (thanks to Lily Green)

Bristol Wow Gorilla 59: I Spy Gorilla, Slimbridge Wetland Centre (with thanks to Sally Munro)

Bristol Wow Gorilla 60: Guerilla Tourist, Birmingham coach station

Some thoughts: I think this is a brilliant and very well-executed idea, but one with a stupid name. I had great fun locating all of the gorillas, like a citywide treasure hunt. I hope none of the gorillas get vandalised, but I’m not hopeful. It’s a shame that more areas of Bristol have not been included on the locations, which have a very city centre bias. Why has the gorilla in Queen Square not been painted? QR codes could have been included on the plinths to add a more interactive element to the search. The locations have been well thought-out, utilising well-trodden thoroughfares as well as a few off the beaten track; apart from the gorilla in the window of Stanfords. The most colourful or humourous gorillas are definitely the best. I look forward to seeing many gorillas in the entrance lobbies of Bristol businesses once the event is over.

My top-ten favourites (in numerical order): Bradisson by Laura Cramer, Fade to Black by Inkie, Blackbeardorilla by Christopher Taylor, Elvis by Martin Band, Jama by Laura Pickering, Blackbeard Silverback by Jane Veveris Callan, Spider Monkey by Christopher Wood, Gorisambard by Tim Miness, Noah by Samuel Lindup and Irene by Emily Trotter.

With thanks to my bicycle for propelling me around the Bristol gorilla hunt. 


Actions

Information

67 responses

8 07 2011
quincylampshades

My fave is Cheeky Check-Up cos Gorilla looks so happy! Plus I had not heard of Thunderbolt Square til now. Remember the painted cows in Manchester? So pleased that Bristol is doing something so brilliant too. My family and I will be Gorilla hunting – an ace family activity. Thanks to you and your bike for sharing.

2 08 2011
cyrahjosie2001

i liked cheeky check-up but i couldnt say it was my favourite

8 07 2011
Martin

I like Cheeky Check-Up as well, one of a few to cause me to chuckle out loud. My first experience of this kind of thing was when I lived in Salamanca in Spain for a year between 2002 and 2003. As part of their European City of Culture activities, they had colourful bulls everywhere for a few months: http://www.eico.net/paseoentretoros/. My friends and I always used to meet by the ‘Euro bull’ in the Plaza Mayor, painted in the EU flag.

8 07 2011
Heidi Boss Gordon

Thanks for these well detailed locations and pics…i too am on a mission to personally photograph all 60 Large Gorillas (i daren’t start the 100 smaller ones!)
I started out today and managed to get 24 in the space of 2 hours (mainly thanks to your page which i used to list them before i set out, as im not good with maps so the map provided by the zoo wasnt particularly helpful to me!)
Hope you manage to get the remaining ones for your collection too.
I was sad to see the Going Going Gorilla in queens square has already been vandalised. What a shame that everyone can’t just enjoy them, without feeling the need to spoil their beauty.

8 07 2011
Blaise Cassell

I just love this……….fantastic public art……..I hope the gorillas are around a long time

11 07 2011
cakeandfeminism

Aw, I love them! Can’t choose a favourite, but I think it’s a great public art concept. Perhaps I should take up the challenge of snapping them all 🙂

11 07 2011
tim

The one in Queens Square IS painted – with a heat sensitive paint. Touch it and see what happens!

12 07 2011
Jonathan Flower

Excellent! A really nice thing for Bristol to do. I intend to visit them all. I particularly like the one in Costco (Old Man of The Forest no.54) which has some lovely detail that the photo here doesn’t do justice. I intend to buy one for my back garden when they come up for auction.

12 07 2011
Kelly Cormack

i have spotted some that are not on here yet how do i put pics on?

13 07 2011
Heidi Boss Gordon

i’m up to 40 now…doing well. still need to take that trip to birmingham for #60…gotta be done tho :o)

14 07 2011
Maggie.

I love the gorilla in the Baptist Church, Chipping Sodbury. He certainly brightens up the area and makes everyone smile as you walk past.

15 07 2011
sue james

Me and my family got a challenge going great fun and yes we too are on the gorilla hunt. Thankgod for this page lol

15 07 2011
natasha

I got to a mother and baby college called the meriton and we just decorated a baby gorilla it looks so amazing can’t wait to see it in its new place…

18 07 2011
Bella

I love things like this! I didn’t know it was happening! I’d love to go and see these. I’ve seen events like this happen in London and Madrid before but with different animals.

23 07 2011
Daniel Richard

Some of the Gorillas are inside of building’s that are important 🙂

24 07 2011
Liz

I’ve had a happy weekend gorilla tracking, thank you for sharing your photos of them all – makes it much easier to label all the photos when I got home. 35 so far, 25 to go!
Oh, and a huge “Thank you!” to all the people of Bristol who have taken photos of me and a gorilla.

28 07 2011
John Hawkes

Love the gorillas. Favourites are in Milennium Square and Thunderbolt Square (which I too had never heard of). I’m off to Birmingham next week to photograph number sixty. Sad??

30 07 2011
amelia

u just gone to birmingham for that !

23 08 2011
a

100 little ones plus ment to be three hidden big ones so good luck

29 07 2011
Heidi Boss Gordon

i too shall be travelling to birmingham…ÂŁ9 coach return for a photo of a gorilla! ur not the only mad one around here John Hawkes, lol!! i only have birmingham, slimbridge, and chipping sodbury left to do now…then who knows, might i allow myself to start on the small ones? watch this space…!

30 07 2011
amelia

rovers one rocks going on the hunt next week can not wait yaaaay !

30 07 2011
Laurence Winch

Just visiting Bristol to see friends, I was taken aback by the gorillas and tried to finding as many as I could no knowing about this website till afterwards! Would love to get pictures of them all but sadly, I don’t live in Bristol so may have to enlist friends to help.

Question though – having walked around harbour festival today, there was a gorilla on the bow of the Matthew that was sailing up and down the harbour but it doesn’t look like any of the 60 on your list! Is this a secret gorilla??!

Love the idea though – really colourful and unique!

17 08 2011
Alfie Mooon

Doris was a late entry,there`s a page on a website explaining why…google “Doris the WOW Gorilla” (or similar) and you should find it.
🙂

18 08 2011
Martin
30 07 2011
amelia

heyya like my facebook page Bristol gorilla hunt plz

31 07 2011
Wig

Secret Gorilla from the matthew is called Doris,
it’s the new figurehead…

1 08 2011
BRIAN CHARNOCK

WELL DONE BRISTOL.
OURS WAS ONLY A SHORT VISIT FROM LINCOLNSHIRE BUT WE ENJOYED HUNTING THEM DOWN AND PHOTOGRAPHING THEM. WE TOO SPOTTED THE ONE ON THE BOW OF THE SHIP…..BUT MUST HAVE WALKED RIGHT PAST THE ONE AT THE RADISSON. GREAT CITY GREAT VISIT.

2 08 2011
Heidi Boss Gordon

woohoo! just slimbridge and birmingham left to do 🙂

3 08 2011
Yvonne

We are enjoying the gorilla hunt and wanted to wish the lady we met on the Suspension Bridge yesterday all the very best with her ride from Land’s End to John O’Groats. We took your picture by “Gorisambard Kingdom Brunel” one! Wish I had asked your name and then we could have tracked your progress on Facebook – so if you are reading this would be good to hear from you!

4 08 2011
ch4dg

have you found the secret 61st gorilla yet?
clue…its on a famous bristol boat

4 08 2011
Heidi Boss Gordon

saw it at the harbour fest

17 08 2011
Alfie Mooon

Caught her this morning from Hotwells Road,thanks to a 70-300 lens…lol 🙂

4 08 2011
Bea

The one down Bitton station is my favourite place to go !! I do hope I see him, I was too focused on the giant slab of cake in front of me *Grins*

5 08 2011
Spazzy01

my favourite is spider monkey north street but i saw a rare one actually on a boat

6 08 2011
John Hawkes

Saw my 60th this morning at Arnos Vale (one of the prettiest). Now I can get back to the real world?

7 08 2011
Jadey..

Bristol Zoo should do a mini gorilla painting activity at the zoo, where children can go and design their own for a fee, that they can keep. This has been a fantastic adventure with the family looking for these Gorilla’s – My daughter (4yrs) actually squeezed between the signs in Stanford’s to hug the Gorilla (Which was a terrible place to put him, as the glass doesn’t allow great pics, and the kids can’t really get close to him).. We have really enjoyed looking for them all though and it was timed perfectly with the school holidays. 🙂 We all had a superb time, my favourite was the brown one in the middle of Queens Square, although I’m sure I’ll love Irene when we go to see it today..

8 08 2011
Jordan Jones

i have just got back from birmingham and i was in the bus station and i had my phoyo taken with the Guerilla Tourist, and bbc points west were asking for photos so i sent my photo in and it got published such a shame i wasnt around to watch it live i had to catch up on bbc i player

8 08 2011
marney

bath pigs was the best :’)

9 08 2011
Heidi Boss Gordon

well you got out just in time Jordan, what with all these riots. and now having spread to bristol, im wondering how many gorillas will even be left for auction by the time these scum have finished destroying our country!

9 08 2011
Heidi Ticehurst (@heiditicehurst)

love these they brighten up my day every time i see one!

12 08 2011
Jessica

I don’t know which is my fave! I love Custard just because it’s pudsey bear! These are really good. I’m not from around Bristol so I went and these were a lovely touch to the visit! They would not last in Leeds!

12 08 2011
Heidi Boss Gordon

was at the balloon fiesta yesterday and a bristol zoo staff was there. i asked her about them displaying them all in bristol, and she said they will all be on display in bristol zoo from 7th september for 2 weeks, and the auction is taking place on 29th september in the Victoria Rooms (top of park street). good for those of us who cant make it to birmingham and slimbridge!

17 08 2011
Alfie Mooon

That`s good to know.I was going to photograph 1 to 59 and 61,post them on my Facebook page along with a photograph of an NE Coach marked up for Birmingham…lol

19 08 2011
Heidi Boss Gordon

lol!!!!! thats a smart idea. but i found out that from 7th september for 2 weeks they will ALL be on display at bristol zoo. the auction is 29th at the victoria rooms

17 08 2011
Rupert Thorpe

These are cool.
I have started taking photos of them as well – almost got them all!

check out my site:
http://BristolGorillas.co.uk

17 08 2011
Jo Sutton

Doris is not the only secret Gorilla. Also look out for one in the shower in the bathroom shop opposite QEH, and one in the flower shop in Clifton Down Shopping Centre

17 08 2011
Alfie Mooon

That`s number 46 & 19 respectively of the the Mini Gorillas…too many for me to seek out lol

17 08 2011
Alfie Mooon

Just a shame that Stanfords doesn`t allow you to go into the shop and take a photograph,the shop assistants make you stand outside the window…that could do with a decent clean

18 08 2011
Rupert Thorpe

I think you will find they are not secret gorillas, they are mini gorillas.

20 08 2011
Alfie Mooon

I`ve just tried telephoning Bristol Zoo to get confirmation about the WOW Gorilla “Reunion” in September.Surprised to say that as it`s saturday,the reception is busy but they do have a menu,ah ha,press 5 for “Events”…”To heard about easter and meeting the Easter Bunny…..”
Come on Bristol Zoo/Bristol City Council,wake up and update!!

20 08 2011
Alfie Mooon

Sat here tidying up my photos before posting them on my Fakebook page.Seems Blackbeardgorilla doesn`t like having his photograph taken as I`ve got a few that seem out of focus,anyone else had this problem or is it just me?…lol

22 08 2011
Matt Anderson (@MrMattAnderson)

Great pictures and remember to post your favourite Wow! Gorillas pictures to the photo competition on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/wowgorillas

22 08 2011
Stephen

I had the good fortune to visit Bristol two weekends ago to see a very good friend of mine. The Gorillas were everywhere!! I lost count of how many I saw in the end but I would say at least 20 by the time we had finished! I had a great time and the Gorillas added to the enjoyment! Hopefully I will be able to make another visit before they disappear!! Such a great way to remember such an enjoyable time! I want one for my garden!!! I think i would go for no. 24!!

25 08 2011
A-roving in the City of Bristol « Lillabullero

[…] projects worldwide.  There are photos of them all on the already mentioned and splendid Bristol Culture website, but here’s one I took myself by Isombard Kingdom Brunel’s Clifton Suspension Bridge. […]

3 09 2011
S A R

The WOW! Gorilla’s have been amazing.

Entertaining the kids this summer has been a very easy task – all they have wanted to do it hunt the gorilla’s. We especially appreciated that we didn’t have to pay anything to see them (other than bus fare and petrol that is!).

We have found 60 which is pretty good going. We’re not going to Birmingham for the 61st though! Not sure for the reason for being so far away, but if it was to encourage tourists to Bristol, surely one should have gone to each of the bigger cities in England (London, Manchester, Newcastle, Edinburg, Dublin, etc)?

Auctioning them off is a great way to make money for charity too. It will be interesting to see how much they go for and which one is most popular.

I thought the art work on Nelson Street was a good idea but it hasn’t been popular with everyone. At least the gorillas seemed to have had a very positive response. I hope Bristol thinks up something just as fun and interesting as the gorillas next year. I’m sure they have helped Bristol’s businesses and tourism.

9 09 2011
AnnieB

Well done Bristol you were luckier than Weston-super-Mare we had four of our donkey’s vandalized so the organisers took them off the streets. about 20 can be found in secure venues but the whole idea of diplaying all 40 round the town for everyone to enjoy( particularly the children) had to be scrapped thanks to a few mindless toe rags who thought that destroying hours of work,quite a lot of money, to say nothing of the organisation was ” a bit of a larf.” Well we dunnit cos we can gov and you cant do nuffink abowt it”

26 09 2011
jonsibelle

see a good idea, steal it (elephantparade.com)

16 10 2011
Huge

There’s another Gorilla that the University bought for the new biological sciences building. Doesn’t seem to be on the list. He’s called Going Going Gone and is heat sensitive to hand prints:
http://www.bristol.ac.uk/news/2011/7948.html/2011-10-06.1523699014/image

16 10 2011
Huge

Actually just saw he is there just not painted yet.

18 10 2011
Heidi Boss Gordon

that’s the one that was in Queen Square. It had been painted while it was on display there in the summer (it was placed there unpainted initially)…i have photos of both stages on that one)

18 10 2011
Katie Barnes

I really love Fading to Black x

5 01 2012
Tuesday Trifle # 7 | Jammy Custard Studios

[…] CLICK HERE TO HAVE A LOOK AT THE DESIGNS […]

11 04 2012
Sue Braund

Hi, there is one on Stamfords bookshop – I have a photo of it.

or

11 04 2012
Sue Braund

12 04 2012
Martin

Yes, I also spotted Maporilla in his natural habitat last week: https://bristolculture.wordpress.com/2012/04/02/maporilla-wow-gorilla-arrives-at-stanfords-bristol/

4 07 2012
Ziggy Soyler

Do you realise that these gorillas are a most heinous act of blatant plagiarism. They are a straightforward THEFT of the idea of the Berlin bears which have stood around that genuinely great city for over a decade:
http://www.sobi.org/photos/places/Berlin/bears/index.html

Actually, it’s ironically apt that Bristol chose gorillas for their rip-off:Not just because Bristol is always trying to “ape” real European cities but because they represent how the British are seen when abroad: simian!

Bristol will never be squat until it is run…if ever…by people who wil emphasise its real virtues and not keep pretending its somewhere ele…like Paris or Berlin. But I guess that this kind of racket wont cease, theres too much money involved, public rate money going to publc relations companies who return “perks” to their friends at the council.

4 07 2012
WillyBooby

First of all, congratulations of getting a bite.
Secondly, I think you need to look up the definition of plagiarism before making silly comments.
At no point did they claim to have invented the idea… Newport did a similar event using dragons, before Bristol, and also Liverpool too, unless I’m mistaken.
In what way does Bristol attempt to imitate other big European cities, other than trying to promote itself the same way everyone else does?
Care to explain to us Bristolians what our ‘real virtues’ are?
Maybe we shouldn’t bother trying anything slightly creative or entertaining to residents and their families for fear of ‘Ziggy Soyler’ objecting it.

Leave a comment